This is a friendly, interactive exchange of information on all Real Estate related subjects. Follow on Twitter: @RETALKS

Moderator: admin

VanBullBear
Real Estate Talker
Topic Author

New to Real Estate (Vancouver) - Need Strategic Advice

Wed Dec 23, 2015 8:25 am

This is my first post and it's a a long one, so please bear with me. I'm in need of advice from you experts because I'm new to the real estate market.
We currently have a household income of 180k/year trending up as my wife and I are both electrical engineers. I was planning on purchasing a house and was browsing at the beginning of 2015 but the prices went insane this year as you all know with the 20% + increase in detached prices over a year.

I was looking at Van East, Richmond and Burnaby - neighborhood and schools is the number one priority as I have children. I eventually came to the realization that I will not be able to purchase unless I'm willing to go over a million for a house (which I am not). I had the feeling by late july that these prices are not sustainable. If house on the east side is out of reach of two full time professionals then there is something wrong. How does the rest of the people living here survive? 180k/year should be around top 5% if not higher (by cencus canada 2013 standards it is top 3%). I get that you don't need a house, but these out of reach prices ripples all the way down to condos, townhomes and eventually rent.